I Am the Face of Arthritis

20130408-104542.jpg

This is what arthritis looks like.

It’s going for regularly scheduled infusions and lab work in hopes the medication will help you feel better.

It’s IV tubes and needle sticks, x-rays and MRIs, frustration and confusion, wheelchairs and canes.

It’s laughing with the nurses because its all you can do.

This is what arthritis looks like.

It’s a mom smiling through the pain during the biggest performance of her sons life.

It’s a woman trying to figure out what to wear that will hide the swollen joints and be easy to get on and off.

It’s a wife trying to be everything her husband thinks she is (and feeling like she’s failing miserably).

This is what arthritis looks like.

It’s a beer with friends because they love you anyway.

It’s going out even though its easier to stay in.

It’s taking control and being determined to live life to fullest, despite the pain.

I am the face of arthritis. And this is what arthritis really looks like.

facesofarthritis.org
The Blue Ribbon Project

3 thoughts on “I Am the Face of Arthritis

  1. I’ll tell you what you are. You are the most incredible woman in the world, ’nuff said. Stop trying to be everything that you think that I believe you are. YOU are everything to me.

  2. Hey hey with all the love in the world from A&K over at Below the Radar. We nominated you for the Sunshine Award and would love for you to accept—but we know things come up and how many spoons it takes to go through that! Just know that you can find the post here, http://belowtheradar002.com/2013/04/23/bursting-hearts/, with the acceptance rules and the nomination. Thank you for inspiring us and know that you will always have BTR on your side.

  3. Inspiring! It feels good to read something like this. It can give positive energy to readers. I also suffered from joint pains. I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis when I was a teen. I tried to cheer up but there were times that I couldn’t hide the pain. I had physical therapy but it didn’t work for me, so I switched to regenerative medicine. I didn’t want to depend on painkillers and I wanted to have a REALief. I mean, permanent, long lasting relief and I’m glad I was able to get it through stem cell. I had it with my orthopedic surgeon, Dr Purita and he was not just a doctor for me, but also an adviser. He listened to my pain and gave me tips like foods to avoid and some exercises. I hope you keep on inspiring people and I really wish you find relief too! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

